Coverart for item
The Resource West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

Label
West of Eden : an American place
Title
West of Eden : an American place
Statement of responsibility
Jean Stein
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"An epic, mesmerizing oral history of Hollywood and Los Angeles by the author of the contemporary classic Edie; Jean Stein influenced the art of oral history in her groundbreaking book Edie : American Girl, an indelible portrait of Andy Warhol 'superstar' Edie Sedgwick. Now, in West of Eden, Stein turns her lens toward the city Sedgwick came from--Los Angeles--and a mythic cast of fortune hunters and aspiring moguls whose quests for fame and power destroyed many along the way. West of Eden, a work of history both grand in scale and intimate in detail, tells the stories of five larger-than-life individuals and their families, each one representing different aspects of Los Angeles and the American dream. There is Edward Doheny, the Wisconsin-born oil tycoon whose corruption ruins the reputation of a United States president and leads to his own son's violent death. Jack Warner, the son of Jewish Polish immigrants, joins with his brothers to found one of the world's most iconic film studios. Jane Garland, the troubled daughter of an aspiring actress, can never escape her mother's schemes. Jennifer Jones, a young actress from Oklahoma, wins an Academy Award at twenty-five but struggles with despair despite her fame and glamour. Finally, Stein chronicles the ascent of her own father, Jules Stein, an eye doctor born in Indiana who transforms Hollywood with the creation of an unrivaled agency and studio. These chapters paint a panoramic picture of outsiders pinning their hopes on Los Angeles--then watching as the shadow of those dreams envelopes their loved ones, especially their children, and the city itself. Decades in the making, West of Eden depicts a land of absurdity and treachery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, Nathanael West, and Joan Didion. As she did in Edie, Stein weaves the personal recollections of hundreds of people into an astonishing tapestry of voices telling the saga of a place like no other. Advance praise for West of Eden: 'In times past, in an effort to capture the edge and feel of Hollywood during its golden age of glamour and noir, Nathanael West, Raymond Chandler, Carey McWilliams, and Joan Didion stretched language and genre to their limits. Jean Stein and West of Eden belong in this company'--Kevin Starr, former California State Librarian and author of California : A History"--
Related Authorities
  • 4nmGfVRTJwY
  • -LGIRScyYKg
  • eJHigeqHhAo
  • -LGIRScyYKg
  • dM9z0LrPj8g
  • PFLrpbAsTDk
  • -LGIRScyYKg
  • -LGIRScyYKg
  • lPcRPz90ZBQ
  • Nh1bFJaGLgY
Related Subjects
  • VmR8aIu-zsQ
  • Ya3oDvlE_YE
  • AG4414yDdOI
  • YAx5uVK7N-Y
  • 15P8Wy5iXMk
  • Ijn2khovV1E
  • UIkm7UhyBps
  • KLgRudYRe-s
Related Context
  • DXfHOMV849Y
  • dbM6az4fEgI
Related by recommendation
  • 54l484RUvf0
  • oVrVsC00ruY
  • Un_3EoH-1FQ
  • 2xpDQHbDryk
  • hBzmszaK7jk
  • oAZe_YdekvU
  • EVWZx5nkBHs
  • _FvPnkCXuXw
  • myvvEEHTpwU
  • XJPSMGnCzxA
  • h0dX94xcGHc
  • o59vNShE4SE
  • alVl1kvLfLI
  • -jV_3Z4l-CE
  • s0w-Vlfgq48
  • SLRfCQf_2sQ
  • eK3-cqsSz0k
  • TmFsqj2hvMk
  • _l2hUfPNzx4
  • J6ycbv41ygE
  • S4EsLR9X0Ic
Title
West of Eden
Creator
Summary
An oral history of five outsider families who rose to power and fortune in Hollywood and Los Angeles traces their humble origins, the dreams that inspired their ambitions, the setbacks that challenged their achievements and their enduring legacies
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10470289
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
979.4/94
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
F869.L853
LC item number
A275 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • CztQ0MbrDAE
  • _fG_60ODYlk
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
an American place
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleRemainder
an American place
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Jean Stein
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Label
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Link
9780812998405.jpg
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Contents
Maps -- I. The Dohenys -- 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- II. The Warners -- 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- III. The Garlands -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- IV. Jennifer Jones -- 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills -- 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- V. The Steins -- 1330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Biographical Notes
Control code
ocn908517292
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780812998405&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
25 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=201035'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xiii, 334 pages
Isbn
9780812998405
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015022411
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...