Coverart for item
The Resource We were strangers once, Betsy Carter

We were strangers once, Betsy Carter

Label
We were strangers once
Title
We were strangers once
Statement of responsibility
Betsy Carter
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home"--
Related Authorities
  • F4Ne-D2Ltlo
  • bjwzbG2ArHU
  • mnuHWpTKW7w
  • eWu7my55whw
  • QWwRtTzl-fw
  • 3FIh27lKe60
  • ijzMXKhFjfI
  • bVONN9LLNI0
  • oTU8N_c0gCM
  • -_WVBG5u0q0
  • tqCYLtCxcag
  • J2WWeKjLtaM
Related Subjects
  • yyMuHlb1jJE
  • s2FEsy8dn4U
  • cgtYwsG_Z6k
  • aW8N3wWIWlA
  • QU_hhQusufI
  • ZCNJ95m2q6A
  • TP683WnYaJE
  • QPOk23rl_DM
  • eaHzfH8utQI
  • cLCyMMA8x5A
  • BRyUV2UUjPI
Related Context
  • No1JVDc0isU
  • 8CnrWbVuWX4
  • bpWj6HIfxlg
  • -PRVuxh_90E
  • iSD267mZwaY
  • mz7eSrqYHK8
Related by recommendation
  • pAgpU88O-CM
  • Wa8-fgRRg1o
  • TIJETkmdqqE
  • -bT0-7vZyiQ
  • V9eCuCshPIs
  • BnwoiCTNPYg
  • YesX8v5YF3w
  • hUv2m6jqUAY
  • 48Cs5MHft54
  • rXEPsYGVZ4I
  • QUEz8R8NCyM
  • qtVDV3iLdEY
  • EsyE0nCi3FI
  • SF_iuHXnsaQ
  • 1uD-885zaas
  • mtkkRaizSbw
  • 81H9H9dHjSg
  • M589CIFRN4s
  • Zj_EgbwTpNc
  • 6b-2lewCbfs
  • V68MNWfSB1I
  • nuHV4ofqo78
  • rF5PWEUAM7Y
  • _FBMCnV5BsI
  • bywy8cv2O4I
  • AV-2_YeYOBE
  • 6FvUtjQi6zs
  • WI6-ZB6EkV4
  • GhNOrplxDDY
  • _T66izj0tzc
Title
We were strangers once
Creator
Summary
"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home"--
Subject
Story line
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10571424
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.A7768
LC item number
W4 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
-HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Betsy Carter
We were strangers once, Betsy Carter

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...