Coverart for item
The Resource The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities, Katharine Weber

The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities, Katharine Weber

Label
The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
Title
The memory of all that
Title remainder
George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
Statement of responsibility
Katharine Weber
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low, this is a fascinating memoir of an extraordinarily influential American family, from the celebrated author of True Confections, Triangle, and The Music Lesson. The Memory of All That is Katharine Weber's memoir of the rich, strange, and fascinating cast of characters in her family, including her grandmother, Kay Swift, known both for her own music (she was the first woman to compose the score to a hit Broadway show, Fine and Dandy,) and for her ten-year romance with George Gershwin; her great-grandfather, Paul M. Warburg, the creator of the Federal Reserve System (for which he was vilified by Henry Ford, Charles Lindbergh, and countless conspiracy theorists as the ringleader of the so-called international Jewish banking conspiracy), the model for Annie's Daddy Warbucks, and the man known as the Cassandra of Wall Street for having forecast the Wall Street crash of 1929; and her crazy father, an eccentric filmmaker who made propaganda and training films for the OSS during World War II and who subsequently invented the regrettable and forgettable Aromarama movies (yes, you could smell them). The Memory of All That is an enthralling look at this tremendously influential family as well as a consideration of how their stories--with their myriad layers of truth and fiction--have both illuminated and influenced who Weber is today." -- Publisher
Related Authorities
  • cAM8cdICdpg
  • f4WCmENQ-8E
  • tqCYLtCxcag
  • A2x075UsemQ
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • ZPCb0hAzYjY
  • pQfAHFpPL6c
  • f4WCmENQ-8E
  • YqszFTEzCdY
  • sS2BN4WWMzU
  • f4WCmENQ-8E
  • tqCYLtCxcag
  • YqszFTEzCdY
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • WOuoVOggRTI
  • RU6lyZBS5j0
  • dSFyYn6T5ig
Related Subjects
  • jxz_eXgz7Yg
  • TFP-5oCDFPc
  • CdFONN5hgHk
  • oytBVwovvW4
  • YchgvvF-PwM
  • q8tfuqPwXoI
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • 3IsD-qLlGbs
Related Context
  • xXPqsi3zPZs
  • 8CnrWbVuWX4
  • sZIRM2Mexhs
Related by recommendation
  • 31on1MbHvxI
  • iBHzLXIPnok
  • UdxOWxHy48Y
  • bgZ-HuVVEQA
  • aB4hGhz0uXg
  • gIFfzrqd05c
  • sLqL2LTfCJs
  • BuUiX3FCcUs
  • e5QX5HW-wfo
  • LwULvLuYHgw
  • -L68ucZlod4
  • 0TbHoFni-xw
  • GA9Mvqt9b6M
  • Aa1D62vNGkU
  • DrU-4sqvzz4
  • Fapo4fkubnQ
  • Ko9hTzvnYbU
  • U3ekpVJeFak
  • UYse7a3UbOw
  • _DZKYUPFG5s
  • yaO541qHPGE
  • aWxQ4b8mKe4
  • VPKieZNH3FU
  • 8NCmzlKDko0
  • ez1dyg0u5LI
  • VZVHiasJdp8
  • YUjB0DU0SrQ
  • zSh2SsKdu0o
  • jC7MzTUaYfs
  • hRZ0kFW3-Ew
Title
The memory of all that
Creator
Summary
"For readers of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low, this is a fascinating memoir of an extraordinarily influential American family, from the celebrated author of True Confections, Triangle, and The Music Lesson. The Memory of All That is Katharine Weber's memoirof the rich, strange, and fascinating cast of characters in her family, including her grandmother, Kay Swift, known both for her own music (she was the first woman to compose the score to a hit Broadway show, Fine and Dandy,) and for her ten-year romancewith George Gershwin; her great-grandfather, Paul M. Warburg, the creator of the Federal Reserve System (for which he was vilified by Henry Ford, Charles Lindbergh, and countless conspiracy theorists as the ringleader of the so-called international Jewish banking conspiracy), the model for Annie's Daddy Warbucks, and the man known as the Cassandra of Wall Street for having forecast the Wall Street crash of 1929; and her crazy father, an eccentric filmmaker who made propaganda and training films for the OSS during World War II and who subsequently invented the regrettable and forgettable Aromarama movies (yes, you could smell them). The Memory of All That is an enthralling look at this tremendously influential family as well as a consideration of how their stories--with their myriad layers of truth and fiction--have both illuminated and influenced who Weber is today"--
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
394257
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 813/.54
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3573.E2194
LC item number
Z46 2011
Literary form
non fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
CztQ0MbrDAE
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleRemainder
George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Katharine Weber
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
memory of all that
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariationRemainder
George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my familys legacy of infidelities
The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities, Katharine Weber
Label
The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities, Katharine Weber
Link
978-0-307-39588-7.jpg
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Control code
ocn676726558
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780307395887&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
22 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=68569'}
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
270 p.
Isbn
9780307395887
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2011003023
Other physical details
ill.

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...