Coverart for item
The Resource The last one : a novel, Alexandra Oliva

The last one : a novel, Alexandra Oliva

Label
The last one : a novel
Title
The last one : a novel
Statement of responsibility
Alexandra Oliva
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Station Eleven and The Passage comes a dazzling and unsettling novel of psychological suspense. In Alexandra Oliva's thrilling fiction debut, survival is the name of the game, as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself--and one woman's mind and body are pushed to the limit. She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far. It begins with a reality TV show.Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of their endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens--but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it man-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it. When one of them--a young woman the show's producers call Zoo--stumbles across the devastation, she can imagine only that it is part of the game. Alone and disoriented, Zoo is heavy with doubt regarding the life--and husband--she left behind, but she refuses to quit. Staggering countless miles across unfamiliar territory, Zoo must summon all her survival skills--and learn new ones as she goes. But as her emotional and physical reserves dwindle, she grasps that the real world might have been altered in terrifying ways--and her ability to parse the charade will be either her triumph or her undoing. Sophisticated and provocative, The Last One is a novel that forces us to confront the role that media plays in our perception of what is real: how readily we cast our judgments, how easily we are manipulated. Advance praise for The Last One: "The Last One seamlessly melds two of our contemporary obsessions--the threat of global catastrophe and the staged drama of reality TV--into a fiercely imagined tale of the human psyche under stress. This is an uncompromising, thought-provoking debut."--Justin Cronin. "Haunting, moving, and remarkable, Alexandra Oliva's debut novel is clever in its concept and gripping in its delivery. This propulsive book is for everyone who ever thought reality television signaled the end of the world."--Karen Joy Fowler. "Taut, tense, and at times almost unbearably real, The Last One is both a compelling read, and a terrifyingly believable evocation of survival against the odds."--Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood. "Page-turning and deeply unsettling."--Rosamund Lupton, internationally bestselling author of Sister"--
Related Authorities
  • DIwqZiy7zeI
  • xyEBgD2JgHI
  • ULe9ljiBm-g
  • zlE9KFyFwpI
  • vZ3Fqw_WBdo
  • Vbpch9LQW3A
  • u_NbMLOGTiQ
  • PGXlGgqipDU
  • z3dv-MoPK44
  • emFtyCZMDTQ
  • gOdujFQRZbQ
  • jDFIpCBGxic
Related Subjects
  • uPHPtNiDZuQ
  • P1Q2M-r1t0I
  • 1ug-GR16qt4
  • d3zabeeWs58
  • XbioGyqhSQI
  • 4-PvTrBDzqA
  • 5eWQa8r7ORM
  • D5Q_RmCok8M
  • A3gQXn7QJIE
  • kVRirCP4DdA
  • sNp06PPnK2U
  • LtGZkiv4Bjw
Related Context
  • KA7-IiModZo
  • Ifw5VPb5knQ
  • -PRVuxh_90E
  • KB4me4TFZQ4
Related by recommendation
  • augrIJVP9Wk
  • Y9N9UKfU_fs
  • fMAWZZ4nrlc
  • 8z5Zzu7p5Tg
  • TkGmvdgaQM0
  • 82xNuo-qE_U
  • F58cV5BoBKQ
  • 18-zHBWmGic
  • -jQ1EZInAKI
  • LY92LVl-i1U
  • ULDYo27N4G4
  • LAbEhrezGVQ
  • giUY_vmCh6A
  • 2-dFxJzqq_k
  • DVilN1QNo-E
  • GyrZvQHoBzQ
  • qzaGlJ3lqxg
  • Kj2Ixhl04ro
  • XeWXMyUQKO4
  • dORy49-5raI
  • xHTz_Jomeok
  • c95veJrticQ
  • d-lG9tmXg3w
  • 0i__rI-pScI
  • T-n72UynqfQ
  • mZfjlAgUZvg
  • E-6FOET8kyg
  • 7rGjUv0Q5_c
  • _PyZz2eN2oo
  • uXS2UYDXGUQ
Title
The last one
Creator
Summary
The Last One tells the story of twelve contestants who are sent to the wilderness in a Survivor-like reality show. But while they're away, the world changes completely and what is real and what is not begins to blur. It's post-apocalyptic literary fiction at it's best. With a fast pace and a wry sense of humor, this is the kind of book that will appeal to readers of literary fiction and genre fiction alike. It points out the absurdity of reality television without feeling condescending. As the readers wakes up to the realities of a new world, it becomes difficult to put down. -- Leah White for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2016.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10485728
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3615.L49
LC item number
L37 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Alexandra Oliva
The last one : a novel, Alexandra Oliva

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...