Coverart for item
The Resource The dress shop of dreams : a novel, Menna van Praag

The dress shop of dreams : a novel, Menna van Praag

Label
The dress shop of dreams : a novel
Title
The dress shop of dreams
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Menna van Praag
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love. Since her parents' mysterious deaths many years ago, scientist Cora Sparks has spent her days in the safety of her university lab or at her grandmother Etta's dress shop. Tucked away on a winding Cambridge street, Etta's charming tiny store appears quite ordinary to passersby, but the colorfully vibrant racks of beaded silks, delicate laces, and jewel-toned velvets hold bewitching secrets: With just a few stitches from Etta's needle, these gorgeous gowns have the power to free a woman's deepest desires. Etta's dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora's studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny stitch into Walt's collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells--like true love--can go awry. After Walt is spurred into action, Etta realizes she's set in motion a series of astonishing events that will transform Cora's life in extraordinary and unexpected ways. Advance praise for The Dress Shop of Dreams "Bighearted, beautiful, and brushed with magic, this novel celebrates life's moments of joy, possibility, and transformation. Menna van Praag's writing is bright with sparkles and lovely grace notes."--Susan Wiggs, bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Ball Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
  • "Etta Sparks's cozy dress shop, tucked away at the end of a winding Cambridge road, is a magical place - anyone who steps inside the little blue door to glimpse the glorious silks and jewel-hued velvets can see they are someplace special. But only Etta knows the dresses she sells are actually magic - a few stitches from her needle and each gown imbues the wearer with the confidence to achieve whatever they set their mind too. The only two people the dresses don't seem to work on are Etta, still nursing a heart broken 40 years ago, and her granddaughter Cora, who dedicated her life to science after her brilliant inventor parents died in a mysterious fire and doesn't have time for things like magic or love. Determined to help Cora find happiness, Etta sews her magic stitch onto the shirt of Walter, the shy young man who works at the bookstore next door and has been in love with Cora for years. When she does, Etta sets in motion a surprising series of events, uncovering a lifetime of secrets that will change her granddaughter's mind about love -- and maybe even bring back something Etta thought she had lost forever"--
  • Etta's dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora's studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny magical stitch into Walt's collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells--like true love--can go awry
Related Authorities
  • 9q06l-5T7xI
  • 225ZlnuTEhc
  • tRaMG3rjm9c
  • Guf6c80OHTI
  • f7oL1hG7zgg
  • kiEXSntVepM
  • xTDi2NzU9lM
  • R5jWPMYOz68
  • GPDChOTa1kA
  • KajJ7ueSEvA
  • aESbdUM9HJg
  • yWk6_eT_tac
  • NQgoxNOJtQM
  • -xTaDdJiNfw
Related Subjects
  • CJQVj3Hox7U
  • eFq-l7wrc7U
  • cixCEbacng0
  • x6agIHriMOs
  • Hj9TObEi-Po
  • P5Rh9dRqQdg
  • OD7qXMdvub8
  • 4mt4eR50h5A
  • 47EC7W1zz_U
  • jWD667fHPls
  • 9-BNW5ZjCPI
  • dncYclHQ9Qk
  • 9FebBUGGf1o
Related Context
  • r0m1vNpxR2o
  • FQi5cwXRVVg
  • uP5Kzh2RblQ
  • 3lpTyBJpivk
Related by recommendation
  • 23MgQd9ipm4
  • JjrbqoStNr0
  • yaiu-GoS-3s
  • vgbZ18C5PQY
  • KXgbBTIkJyo
  • zgWxOJhz7Rk
  • Y_mFdiajLtc
  • j1HxFsgmW_w
  • VNw2CJ0Mfiw
  • 3MpNrBjpXSY
  • Bcy7o0Bsop0
  • O679ydDkgzk
  • ogBcuie-Stw
  • kHg968lajPs
  • eCROT0AOzMU
  • _8FEO8QcP5w
  • 19VbdKYokCs
  • zjmF4v4Cc0g
  • pwSfHIn2J5c
  • Vo5wvyQNkvs
  • cojHzY4I7nQ
  • cgrarO5SYl0
  • 49JbkvAGpE0
  • Vf3wREkDXQ0
  • _QmNPHAmn7M
  • ubqS3m-uVnQ
  • IfVtew7dBc4
  • ohbcGlND6Fw
  • T0tafoYONjk
  • qDk5kcITWa0
Title
The dress shop of dreams
Creator
Summary
Tidy, romantic, and fine escapism. All the characters here have interesting back stories: Cora is believable as a no-nonsense gal trying to rebuff sweet Walt’s advances, and Etta is someone I’d like to meet in real life. Reminiscent of Love Actually and P.S. I Love You, this cute little book is recommended to readers who want to be charmed by the possibilities of love. -- Andrienne Cruz for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Story line
Tone
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2015
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10399423
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6116.R34
LC item number
D74 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Menna van Praag
The dress shop of dreams : a novel, Menna van Praag

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...