Coverart for item
The Resource Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson

Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson

Label
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
Title
Only in Naples
Title remainder
lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
Statement of responsibility
Katherine Wilson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law--and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love"--
  • "When Katherine Wilson decides to do an internship abroad after graduating from college in 1996, she is warned by her family and friends against going to Naples. It is dirty and dangerous, she is told. 'The good guys and the bad guys all look alike;' 'You should really go to Tuscany, ' she is cautioned. But it is the chaos and vibrancy of Naples that intrigues Katherine. After taking an internship at the American Consulate she is set up on a blind date with a young man named Salva. She expects to be taken to dinner at a pizzeria, but instead is taken home to meet Salva's mother, Raffaella. This marks the start of Katherine's initiation into Italian society. She and Salva end up marrying, but it's Raffaella who gives Katherine the culinary and cultural education that marks the beginning of her womanhood"--
Related Authorities
  • zKvYIB1wE9Y
  • f4WCmENQ-8E
  • SZw7qIeQsGo
  • EFum0-lDdOI
  • c0mwer9f7xY
  • A7G3usYhzAY
  • c0mwer9f7xY
  • lJF560y8Y7g
  • 6PlO2KRVpXg
  • f4WCmENQ-8E
  • c0mwer9f7xY
  • A2x075UsemQ
  • c0mwer9f7xY
  • c0mwer9f7xY
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • vJw7z-L4sEA
  • kqkNjY0vcSs
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • Kkshc8QIHZw
  • PvIrDr_K-80
Related Subjects
  • YEdBD_k1DmE
  • s7shM58wrCo
  • ku0FKv6LSxQ
  • eKdiJgoYzP0
  • aQ4LoKaMyYc
  • aR0-7qnvTI8
  • z39KyotdFlM
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • ElhgogvLz9g
  • 3UCISeEUUAw
Related Context
  • 2U0aVxa6S3E
  • 7vYGCjfD5iA
  • xJbHnd5PInw
Related by recommendation
  • HIaE1qHZXWE
  • w2GraSQMWk0
  • MRLokKy_CSw
  • b6z59mjGj4w
  • Vq5RLD9CbLQ
  • yE3fEkktAY0
  • SG8Mdco7UGA
  • 6ZkctCTlAfo
  • wkF5GiWxvlw
  • PH_EOnTzZd4
  • rCtaBqmy4Hs
  • g11kkFIZijs
  • 33zxmKWm_ZE
  • FxBNesqNTbA
  • WZ6IHiYs2lw
  • kRVtneT5TLY
  • 0pabc99Bvng
  • ABuczB9Nm30
  • bAnrJpwFKMk
  • HLwWy20TjG0
  • 7982E6PLfbE
  • 3q29xMqp7pY
  • en0Z5lCaU7M
  • _mAz3f7T4b0
  • 9En1HQR5NbE
  • Fn78UxUMfnU
  • 9XztkJ0tZ0c
  • KMQ_lXMUQiY
  • qdtwWSQeTzM
  • 0PbD7nVz8-A
Title
Only in Naples
Creator
Summary
After graduating from college, well-to-do Katherine Wilson left Washington, D.C. and headed to Naples, Italy for an unpaid internship at the American Consul. Though Naples was considered "dirty and dangerous" by her friends and family, she discovered that people either loved or hated the city, and she loved it. Not only did she learn to eat better (she'd been a binge eater), but she was embraced by an Italian family and their chic, well-connected matriarch, Raffaella, who taught Wilson about Neapolitan culture and how to cook delicious local foods -- and eventually lessons about marriage and motherhood when Wilson married her son. This lighthearted, charming look at Italian life includes recipes. -- Description by Dawn Towery
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10481675
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 945.7310929092
  • 920
Index
no index present
LC call number
DG850.W55
LC item number
A3 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
CztQ0MbrDAE
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleRemainder
lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Katherine Wilson
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson
Label
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Control code
ocn916591695
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780812998160&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
22 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=203958'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 287 pages
Isbn
9780812998160
Lccn
2015016098

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...