Coverart for item
The Resource Nobody's son : a memoir, Mark Slouka

Nobody's son : a memoir, Mark Slouka

Label
Nobody's son : a memoir
Title
Nobody's son
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Mark Slouka
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze"--
Related Authorities
  • 0quX7G4Vppk
  • yEMSeN0u1Gc
  • jbsTBzGHQb4
  • v0OrIgH6q0g
  • cAM8cdICdpg
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • JV2Ud0NIzak
  • OtGNufsi5aA
  • jbsTBzGHQb4
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • Kkshc8QIHZw
  • Np4htVdk0z4
Related Subjects
  • qyOLcNDF0fk
  • 6dxQ0l642x0
  • 2lwd1OgyOUE
  • 7q4RSgRTHRo
  • u4aWnfOdtvQ
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • EGEOm9LplMI
  • SWIrgEj-mp0
Related Context
  • 7lLQYEAqSL8
  • E-K52gUWDjA
Related by recommendation
  • hQAF4x612Ps
  • l7jTJRP4Ukw
  • E7tnO4XmxuY
  • GhjOT-jUDkU
  • vprzIOTq1y4
  • vWSVA5sBWxE
  • bwlbD09yxGU
  • SevyPt0uHRQ
  • n1LM76a9HLQ
  • 3KEauaRassw
  • Yyb_iKlrDNA
  • 9BDjBlPK_a4
  • P2vyyz_2dtM
  • 7Exe6zcfTp4
  • nB_ou0u2qSk
  • vry6H_YWh-I
  • SxOdYzE9cH4
  • 7TNb4wpUnEY
  • ztseo8-3JCc
  • qt2U62OOcQQ
  • X3yeQHz98Ts
  • PS92-RlRMKo
  • MDuFR03svnw
  • HMRjuyWVsqE
  • _m-nTsDSeDw
  • HUY231CwZhE
  • CRCCwFLLAmk
  • 4ISm8OazrEw
  • RWqn4VGlbVM
  • M9oW_pIKPik
Title
Nobody's son
Creator
Summary
The son of Czechoslovakian parents who were smuggled out of their country to escape the Nazis, only to endure postwar Communist purges traces the experiences of the war's refugees and the author's own efforts to reconnect with his mother through a labyrinth of trauma, displacement and denial
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Award
Library Journal Best Books, 2016
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10530322
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 813.54
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3569.L697
LC item number
Z46 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Mark Slouka
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
Nobodys son
Nobody's son : a memoir, Mark Slouka
Label
Nobody's son : a memoir, Mark Slouka
Publication
Copyright
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Control code
ocn952195755
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780393292305&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
22 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=211071'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
274 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780393292305
Lccn
2016018257
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...