Coverart for item
The Resource London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson

London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson

Label
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey
Title
London rain
Title remainder
a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey
Statement of responsibility
Nicola Upson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king. London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals. Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford--and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony. Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets ... caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making. Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge--and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time"--
  • "May, 1937, London: The country is still reeling from Edward VIII's shocking decision to abdicate the throne in order to marry the woman he loves, Wallis Simpson. As London prepares for the historic Coronation of his brother, George, bestselling writer Josephine Tey is in town to oversee a BBC radio production of her play, Queen of Scots. When one of the BBC's best-known broadcasters is murdered at the height of the Coronation celebrations, Josephine has a front row seat. Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose is called to investigate--and then another killing occurs. The victim? The leading actress in Josephine's play, who happened to be the broadcaster's mistress. Adultery, treachery, and pent-up jealousies clearly haunt the BBC, suggesting the motive lies close to home, but Josephine suspects that the killings are linked to a decade-old scandal. His hands tied by bureaucracy and his attention taken by another, seemingly unrelated death, Archie is unable to solve the case. It's up to Josephine to untangle a long-hidden web of love, deceit and betrayal. As her own relationship with Marta Fox reaches a turning point, she must confront the consequences of romance gone awry"--
Related Authorities
  • RUui4K5oCe4
  • 8bsMvnC8OEs
  • e6Y2eL_k-2s
  • CLUxYTtGNpo
  • bzkBhRxQCtY
  • tqCYLtCxcag
  • uC2tMDLSgiQ
  • kB91VkjVoR8
  • MyaLE854gOM
Related Subjects
  • pIIGR2NwtwE
  • h6C6E8HFhlE
  • -JTPZkJqUJU
  • HRGC_q9DF68
  • GeNLE2idvEs
  • ZC-92cobXHM
  • OWGnN_Vw1Ic
  • -Na1ShMSAxI
Related Items
74qzpKk6lB0
Related Context
  • MtlFncdinGs
  • SRhAThU2tKA
  • RS7164s3JOg
  • B1UlHE272tM
  • bpWj6HIfxlg
  • D7x5ZHi-UQk
  • NbmENqK-niQ
  • bTJluOqQECQ
Related by recommendation
  • 07s7W28qOeM
  • aY4pyR-8EVM
  • rNJxvBi07g4
  • 8GLQQTkFkyU
  • C102N7-nrOg
  • Dn7K6-gNqaA
  • 1FuBj8I7hyM
  • 520Yv4NYX0c
  • pkdlujb-Nmo
  • 5thTC5yK_MA
  • j8-T3UKwerE
  • Thhb-a8sPzs
  • xwvz8WbXmeU
  • DWdZsnt2Mqg
  • pzmutiHiqNE
  • xQQBqwmArKU
  • jNdyu1ujJJ4
  • fxCsXD9mtmk
  • XM1Y5C8hQto
  • Ot1k0RnZpjk
  • V04rBQTnfuk
  • MYQBi1RqfQc
  • 2md9s-KPMkY
  • nEyj6kK5FnU
  • INLZvDolSNE
  • _sU4xjfp7R8
  • Ac5hI_KBptA
  • uRCxiEjkciQ
  • ngksOGW5ncA
Title
London rain
Creator
Summary
In spring 1937, London prepares for the coronation of George VI. As part of the festivities, writer Josephine Tey's play Queen of Scots is being adapted for radio by the BBC. While she's in town for the occasion, multiple murders occur (it all starts when the play's lead actress has an affair with a veteran news reader, and his wife, who also works for the BBC, finds out). Donning her sleuthing hat, Tey helps her friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, investigate in her 6th outing. Meanwhile, she worries over her own love triangle. Those who enjoy leisurely paced books full of period detail will appreciate this series based on real-life Golden Age author Josephine Tey. -- Description by Dawn Towery
Subject
Member of
Genre
Story line
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10439508
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6121.P76
LC item number
L66 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
-HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Josephine Tey mysteries,
Series volume
6
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Nicola Upson
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson
Label
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson
Publication
Note
Originally published as LONDON RAIN in Great Britain in 2015 by Faber & Faber
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Control code
ocn913332623
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780062418159&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
21 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=200858'}
Edition
First Harper paperbacks edition.
Extent
329 pages
Isbn
9780062418159
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2015026889
System control number
(OCoLC)913332623

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...