Coverart for item
The Resource Flyover lives : a memoir, Diane Johnson

Flyover lives : a memoir, Diane Johnson

Label
Flyover lives : a memoir
Title
Flyover lives
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Diane Johnson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--
Related Authorities
  • uOduvmg1YBQ
  • 05P05BX5d9E
  • SC6b9HZ6g28
  • houU6W8RMVI
  • vU2x69jsR-A
  • Mj3XtaM3bow
  • wIDdnINUReE
  • _l6jPhZbdd8
  • dsbp4hXq2EE
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • WOuoVOggRTI
  • Qy-ZyDcq7LM
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • KAM3d3hsM5w
  • vqTHDCe34ls
  • YqszFTEzCdY
Related Subjects
  • YTeUBXhR6fQ
  • pox33QnBUB8
  • ZZxKEYaKEf8
  • LuuFZSMUvMQ
  • Yb7U8OQ-sXU
  • 13ONvbeY0uA
  • q5FsX5vgBLA
  • zv7ztg4kd7Y
  • jvO2BaqlKWQ
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • -iesBOxTqcE
  • bnPoGVDA7SQ
  • oDE_KpgsCdM
Related Context
  • E-K52gUWDjA
  • D7x5ZHi-UQk
  • 1CK1FC6Wkqg
Related by recommendation
  • TII93I71bQc
  • CveKjOAu3YM
  • Xgp_NPDXi0c
  • soAHX1G_Q9M
  • s6GjOZfqE1Y
  • RlMHXfC_Avs
  • 4Xs-svSh-Qg
  • INnucMmltrs
  • fJQpCeN0XgE
  • LvG9dLHzhDo
  • RZ83PRcw7Ro
  • VB34GmFaOWQ
  • t9pzl6eiCTg
  • h8Onq2Rmhq8
  • CkNYiP-BNP4
  • azatnfTPOqA
  • rUOYyIYvTsM
  • LOd1rlqp3FA
  • YrKWDi6nvKU
  • sUMlyGzxdTo
  • iTMsMwyy90c
  • cHT5aC16MLs
  • vyhL8kf8gRU
  • sHecKCVH6ZA
  • I9_tak78bZs
  • oLcOPg0etcE
  • n2yvaYT3flg
  • NOaii4kTFKM
  • biEcnb4y9qQ
  • KPo8UPK5iEg
Title
Flyover lives
Creator
Summary
Follows the author's response to a French friend's accusation that Americans seem indifferent to history, and her discoveries about her Midwestern family's complex pioneer heritage
Subject
Genre
Writing style
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10246694
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 813/.54
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3560.O3746
LC item number
Z46 2014
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Diane Johnson
Flyover lives : a memoir, Diane Johnson
Label
Flyover lives : a memoir, Diane Johnson
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Contents
I. In France -- A Weekend with the General -- II. Flyover Country -- Moline, pop. 34,000 -- My Moline -- Myopia -- Pastimes -- Economies -- Books -- III. Eighteenth-Century Beginnings -- How We All Descend from Greatness -- Ranna -- Anne and God -- Huts -- 1800 -- John Perkins Too Sees God -- Some Stories from the Life of Catharine Perkins -- The Story of Catharine Continued -- The Inappropriate Letter -- Catharine's Romance -- The Affair of the Locket -- Rascals -- The Elusive Eleazer -- Wedding Journey -- Bloomingburg -- Women's Work : Quilts -- Eleazer the Doctor -- Sorrow -- Depression -- Wars -- IV. Modern Days -- Watseka, Chenoa -- Rich in Uncles -- Summer -- In God We Trusted... -- The Dark Shadow -- Flyover -- Mademoiselle -- California -- Writer -- Silver Screen -- Uncle Bill -- Divorce -- London -- Emancipation Proclamation -- Defeat -- Yellow Morgan -- Chagrin -- Epilogue
Control code
ocn849719158
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9780670016402&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
22 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=171191'}
Extent
xviii, 263 pages
Isbn
9780670016402
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2013036808
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)849719158

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...