Coverart for item
The Resource Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Label
Dimestore : a writer's life
Title
Dimestore
Title remainder
a writer's life
Statement of responsibility
Lee Smith
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Related Authorities
  • lChgh81zc8s
  • cAM8cdICdpg
  • CLUxYTtGNpo
  • 35oEKkcY9hs
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • WOuoVOggRTI
  • Qy-ZyDcq7LM
  • F4Ne-D2Ltlo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • Kkshc8QIHZw
  • lChgh81zc8s
Related Subjects
  • kUhwNqxQRWE
  • u4aWnfOdtvQ
  • HRGC_q9DF68
  • WGS8NrsCsd0
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • _7xSDCVnMao
  • sqCzgOs8uG8
Related Context
E-K52gUWDjA
Related by recommendation
  • Ntwltvvx26c
  • YHGiZwsAycg
  • lr8kKgzYTYE
  • y0cP-IGW_44
  • Xgp_NPDXi0c
  • _TreVXagPl0
  • NPzLzDcJ-3I
  • AroiCEaYrts
  • 5_yepXjI-CM
  • RlMHXfC_Avs
  • leJ51xAdqAw
  • ntp7MHqGRr4
  • PjWHLKBovdg
  • jqykxx6HA-s
  • HO7SPFWOxEE
  • E36zatDzASg
  • PyQGPi_rr8A
  • PW3hD2OGrJ8
  • mYbvSqkqeCE
  • JUfEeDcs3Fw
  • cUavfEtTq2U
  • LXaQnz4beVg
  • BNZvy6ImKwk
  • AmboyRpZWf0
  • Mm68cgMoybI
  • VrxNmqC4i0I
  • bMQNDMBSfEQ
  • UCohUCw49RE
  • a6p4CE65hhw
  • LOd1rlqp3FA
Title
Dimestore
Creator
Summary
Evenly divided between a book about Smith’s process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son’s mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr’s The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for it’s elegant and evocative writing. -- Lois Gross for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10473102
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
975.5/752
Index
no index present
LC call number
F234.G84
LC item number
S62 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a writer's life
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleRemainder
a writer's life
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Lee Smith
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
Dimestore
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariationRemainder
a writers life
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Label
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Contents
Preface: raised to leave -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy -- Goodbye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Control code
ocn911255341
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=EBSDVR53400&Password=CC19341&Return=1&Type=M&Value=9781616205027&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
20 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'DOVER': 'https://librarycatalog.dover.nh.gov/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=200881'}
Extent
202 p. :
Isbn
9781616205027
Lccn
2015023739

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...