Coverart for item
The Resource Before we were yours : a novel, Lisa Wingate

Before we were yours : a novel, Lisa Wingate

Label
Before we were yours : a novel
Title
Before we were yours
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Wingate
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
  • "Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"--
Related Authorities
  • Al2YpchauZI
  • 5NIRoSXY6t0
  • bXMXFecrBXM
  • yyY34AT9P5A
  • uzpv3V1nMa0
  • GHbpUUZfiaQ
  • 0hOX0dDUzuc
  • 1x-5yNTkjTU
  • ySgtdoo1KOU
  • I-H1p4grCXg
  • TLP7vBeWLJI
  • XtzDP5mDEcU
  • jDFIpCBGxic
Related Subjects
  • CWFPTCXacQ8
  • YdOnb4ugqeY
  • MWoddUV-geQ
  • Rp-uXDoTz5w
  • myiExsJCQPY
  • 9tcW7Oock9w
  • ga8v3FN2w6g
  • phMQlFrznkA
  • ea3GKDzaAwM
  • 2chEkCNFHcE
  • 5HLDjt8gKKk
  • onlHSlgNugY
  • LtGZkiv4Bjw
Related Context
  • No1JVDc0isU
  • 39RAiARCr-I
  • 7lLQYEAqSL8
  • -PRVuxh_90E
  • iSD267mZwaY
Related by recommendation
  • TEsKaI1FSao
  • EapBefthJVo
  • lH1M4bcqYM4
  • ismowfjvhc0
  • hn3FxtnAQA8
  • m2XxafbHsGU
  • n3OWhp8DHeM
  • WSCiyWilGh0
  • eqEUOwnn5-M
  • PvrkX54EPp0
  • AsGyDuIi5OU
  • VNsceyS0IcY
  • _NhJHL_UXwE
  • cw-OJ1mf6I8
  • HCCLPnHl_UU
  • uXxsBeCEy9k
  • WYmG5Huogbk
  • g1J7BzPLRnU
  • IcEJAeKYW9o
  • sPMJkzbtfpk
  • aOq5fpa85zM
  • PNOaJ7y4Ma8
  • PHR5ZpzgjaY
  • HiKeBidzxBU
  • q_rNXOWfipI
  • FaP8xxu1_BE
  • XSE7I34Pwm4
  • aDgQxEzmrlo
  • p9REl-eilfk
  • 8M9mrFYC0PA
Title
Before we were yours
Creator
Summary
A tale inspired by firsthand accounts about the notoriously corrupt Tennessee Children's Home Society follows the efforts of a Baltimore assistant D.A. to uncover her parents' fateful secrets in the wake of a political attack and a chance encounter with a stranger
Subject
Genre
Story line
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Goodreads Choice Award, 2017
  • Librarians' Choice (Australia), 2017
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10560371
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3573.I53165
LC item number
B44 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Lisa Wingate
Before we were yours : a novel, Lisa Wingate

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      73 Locust St, Dover, NH, 03820, USA
      43.19289 -70.876331
Processing Feedback ...